Let The Wild Rumpus Start!

Where the Wild Things Are Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
For the next year, I thought I’d challenge myself to read as many books as I can that appear in the book “1001 Children’s Books You Must Read Before You Grow Up” by Julia Eccleshare. I decided to start with “Where the Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak.

The book is about a boy named Max who wears a wolf costume and gets into trouble. After his mom sends him to his room without his dinner, he embarks on a journey where he becomes “king of all wild things.” He soon realizes though that it’s lonely to be king and decides to go back home to his loving mother where he discovers a hot plate of dinner waiting for him.

First of all, I LOVE Sendak’s illustrations! I find it fascinating to stare really closely at the pictures and see all of the tiny pen strokes he did to create all the imaginative details. The fact that the picture sizes start out small and grow to cover a full double page spread during the height of the journey only to shrink back as the journey comes to an end is a wonderful enhancement to the story. As for the plot, some people argue that Max doesn’t learn a lesson about his bad behavior. However, I think he realizes that doing nothing but acting out isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be. He also realized that his mom still loved him even though she sent him to bed without dinner. Overall, I really liked this book and how it touched upon the themes of the power of imagination and unconditional love in a unique way.

View all my reviews >>

One response to “Let The Wild Rumpus Start!

  1. Love your blog! I want to start reading the 1001 books to my kids! I wish i could follow your blog w/o getting the emails….

Leave a Reply

