And Now…. Back to the Show!

Ok.. Lets see…

What number day is it?  …The 8th? …Ok…

What day of the week is it? …Monday? ….Huh…

What month is it? ….. ….March?!?!?!?! ….Are you sure?!?

That’s the typical conversation that goes on in my head whenever I have to write down the date on something. I can’t believe Spring is already here! Honestly, I haven’t even sent out my Christmas cards… (Which I guess I’ll just throw everyone off and try to pull off a “Christmas in July” celebration….)

I never realized that working in retail could alter one’s perception of time passing. I mean, I’m vaguely aware of holidays passing since I have to put up displays and take them down; but overall, time means nothing. Maybe it’s the fact that I have no set weekly schedule so I never know what day of the week it is. (When customers call and ask me what time the store closes that day, I always have to ask them “What day of the week is today” before I answer.) Maybe it’s the fact that holiday displays are up so far in advance that it’s more of a joke in some cases. (For example, I had to put up the Halloween kids books while we were still in the month of August.) Or maybe it’s because customers tend to ask the same questions over and over again so much that I feel like I’m in the movie “Groundhog Day.”

No matter how it happened, it did; March is here. The biggest silver lining to come from this though, is that I can officially start using my vacation days! Since this is my first full-time job, these are also my first paid vacation days. Therefore, I will be paid for hanging out in Seattle, Vancouver, and Whistler! Even though I’ll be gone for 6 days, I’m only using 2 of my 10 vacations days since my regular 2 days off a week can be moved around to my benefit when the need arises. So hopefully I’ll have an exciting post when I get back!

Speaking about posting, I’ll try to post more. One upcoming post will deal with the shaky state of my bookstore. However, life comes first… And if I don’t get around to regular posting, so be it!  😉

Today’s silver lining: Even though I found out recently that I have to do jury duty this month, at least it’s not during the vacation that has been planed for months!

Leave a Reply

