Unusual Entree

Green Eggs and HamGreen Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Green Eggs and Ham” is a wonderful book for beginning readers. There are just 50 different words in the entire book, of which many are either sight words or rhyming pairs. The fact that there is a lot of repetition in the story also helps out the beginning reader.

The story is about Sam-I-Am trying to get an unnamed character to try some “green eggs and ham”. The unnamed character refuses to eat it and claims that he does not like it. Sam-I-Am is incredibly persistent and eventually convinces him to at least try it. The story ends with the unnamed character trying the dish, finding out that he indeed does like green eggs and ham, and finally thanking Sam-I-Am for encouraging him to try it.

The reason why I only gave this story 4 stars is based on the moral of the story. On one hand, I think that it is important for people to have the courage to try new things. On the other hand, I’m not much of a fan of peer pressure. When reading this story to young students, I try to focus on simple fact of trying new food, such as brussels sprouts (which I happen to love). Hopefully, students won’t automatically focus on the peer pressure aspect. Just imagine if “green eggs and ham” was a code for a type of drug and then re-read the story. Yikes! However, if you just focus on the surface meaning and the fact that it is a great book for beginning readers to read on their own, then this book is fantastic addition to a classroom library.

On a personal note, I LOVE the edition I have of this book! It’s actually a very LARGE edition that is about 1 and ½ feet tall and spiral bound. There is no barcode because it is a promotional copy that I got from working in a bookstore. On the back cover, there is even a section for “in-store activities”. I LOVE it!!

View all my reviews >>

One response to “Unusual Entree

  1. Pingback: The Heritage Cook

Leave a Reply

