My First Classroom!

Monday was our first official work day at the school!

First, we had breakfast together as a staff in the library and got started on the meeting concerning our staff handbook. It’s mighty long… We then took a break for lunch; at which point we were officially given keys to our classrooms!!! We were able to see our classrooms, eat lunch, and then meet back together to have our benefits, medical, and insurance meeting. Ok… and now on to fun interesting part… the classrooms!!!

Keep in mind, that before I got the keys, I never even saw the building that I was assigned to. It’s an older part of the campus, which is separate from the rest of the school (and a LONG walk to the office/library/cafeteria). I had looked in the windows of some of the classrooms in the main building and the rooms looked pretty nice and relatively large. This is not generally so in my building.

Now, before I go on any farther, I have to say this: I am EXTREMELY lucky with the kindergarten classroom I was assigned! My classroom (although an odd long and narrow rectangle) is almost double the space as the other language arts kindergarten classroom. Let me show you…

That is the ENTIRE classroom as seen from the door… AND is smells a bit like moldy wood from the old cubbies… No room for carpet time…

Anyway….. in comparison, if you are looking at it from the doorway, my classroom is a bit shorter from east to west, but double the length from north to south… I have a TON of wall space which I’m loving! I just don’t know where the bulletin boards or dry erase boards are going and if I have any say what-so-ever in that decision.  Oh… and I have two entrances to my classroom… one on each end of my classroom, one opening onto the playground and one next door to the teacher I’ll be sharing my kids with.  Without further ado, here are the pictures of my classroom BEFORE I do anything to it…

P8160267

^My classroom while standing in front of the teacher’s desk.

P8160265

^My classroom viewed from the other side.

P8160285

^My classroom viewed from an angle… The doors you see on the right go into 2 separate first grade classrooms. You can also see the note I left on that bulletin board asking to please not remove… I bet it can be of some use to either me or someone else in the building.

P8160284^This is my classroom’s only storage/shelf space as of right now. You can also see the sink to the left… Right now, the teacher’s desk is positioned in front of these…

As you can see, even though it’s small for a Kindergarten classroom, it’s MUCH larger than the other Kindergarten classrooms… The only downside is that I’ll have to share my room with the after-school care program. I’m a bit hesitant because I plan on spending a LOT of my own money and put a LOT of my own materials in my classroom. I can only hope that whatever group of kids and supervisor that uses my room is respectful. (Ok, I’m more than a bit hesitant; I’m downright nervous!!)

Anyway, I can’t wait to have the bulletin boards and dry erase board in my classroom so I can start decorating! So much to do and so little time! My room has to be ready THIS Saturday for the Teacher/Parent/Student Meet and Greet! Eek!

Today’s Silver Lining: I can relax a bit since I finally have the keys to my classroom. I’ve been waiting for this ever since I signed my contract! Oh… and it’s really nice that I have the largest Kindergarten classroom at my school. (I promise I won’t brag about it after this post though!)  =D

One response to “My First Classroom!

  1. Looks great! I can’t believe how soon you have to have it ready, but I’m sure you’ll get it done. =) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

